My Cardoon Chronology

Continuing on where last years ‘If friends were flowers, I’d pick you’ trailed off, this season I had my cardoons selected and couriered to me by @BestBlooms. Yeah I bought an ‘invasive weed’ – my garden too small to cultivate them myself. No luck either finding any that had not already been sprayed with herbicide. At NZ$4 a stem, cardoons arrived just starting to flower, with a delicious sweet honey scent, a very enjoyable and fascinating flower to have in the house. Cardoons are available commercially at the market for  about 2 weeks, with limited demand for them @BestBlooms kindly scoured the market for me.

Flowers arrived first week of 2012. All stems opened after a week. Stems dried upside down in dark shed for 2 weeks. Picked 90gm of stamen from 16 cardoon, enough to set 240L of milk. Now we start coagulating… below is my cardoon chronology.

 

About Curd Nerd

Put it in my belly, especially if it's smelly.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Cardoon Chronology

  1. Pingback: NZ and Bruny Island Cheese tasting | #CheeseSolidarity

Leave a Reply

