It’ll all come out in the wash.

Been playing megalomoniac with cheese & a wash of beer. With suitable temperature & humidity my omnipotence of affinage is rewarded with a devoted following of flora & fauna. Yep, I’m developing a Messiah complex.

In a former life I would wash Cardo & St James cheeses at NYD, and William Oglethorpes ‘The world is like a washed rind’ philosophy was the conversation:

All life worships the wash. Take our planet, or washed rind. We’re covered in 71% of water, in a constant water cycle of washing via evapotranspiration, precipitation & runoff. The earliest forms of life appeared in water and evolved from the water to the land, & with water could proliferate, photosynthesize and respire.

I’m a devotee of the above – with a pint in his hand.

I like a 90-95% RH & 10-12 °C. Wine fridges are very posh – and expensive, which I’m not. Plenty of vivarium ceramic bulbs and ukulele humidifiers in the world to pimp. Below is my current home set up of R2D2 DIY : a digital temp controller, an old fridge, a pond fogger, a 24 hour timer to toggle pond fogger, temp and hygrometer display, water in the vegetable crisper. Sweet as.

@EpicBeer  have kindly donated a few bottles for washing experiments, if you’d like to do the same that would be choice.

About Curd Nerd

Put it in my belly, especially if it's smelly.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’ll all come out in the wash.

  1. Pingback: Metal maturation | #CheeseSolidarity

  2. Pingback: My cheese is unique to me and to my body part from which it was sampled. | #CheeseSolidarity

Leave a Reply

